Site of the writer Andrew Wood

Where I Stand

So far 2012 has been run-of-the-mill since my Cornwall holiday. I have seen people suffer already and it’s only been two weeks so far! I’ve barely written at all so far, maybe managing a thousand or so words in total in the first couple of weeks of the new year. Maybe this is brain freeze because of the winter temperature or something a bit deeper – who knows?

As I sit here at my computer I am finding my mind awash with concern and self-doubt. I strongly suspect that my aversion to buckling down with my novel is due to my fear of failure. These things affect us in so many ways and we don’t even realise it. Where is the inspiration I once had?

And of course as many of you know, 2012 is the year of the supposed apocalypse… according to the Mayan calender. The interpretation puts it roughly December 21. This, coincidentally, is the birthday of two dear friends of mine so it’s more of a downer for them.

Back to the main point… In light of the so-called “end of the world” I am absolutely determined to get my novel polished and sent off way before then. I must stop putting things off. Fingers crossed!

Comments on: "Where I Stand" (5)

  1. eden baylee said:

    You’re going to be fine Andy. Sometimes it’s a bit difficult to be motivated after the holidays. Just get to it and don’t worry about the “end of the world.” Plenty of time to get your novel done before then!
    eden

    • Thanks Eden. That end of the world thing is superstitious nonsense anyway 😛 I just feel so frustrated at the moment 😦

  2. Andy, I agree with Eden – the beginning of the year is sometimes a sluggish and you’re not alone in your lack of motivation 🙂 I have not touched my novel writing for weeks!

    I didn’t know you’re such a worrier. End of the world? C’mon, you don’t honestly believe that crap, do you :)?

  3. Hey, Andy… you’re a writer. Depression gives us inspiration! Just don’t stay there too long. You have what it takes. Eden is right. ‘Tis the season. I’m in my own little, deep, hole and it’s because I’m ready to publish my 3rd book. It’s funny how writer get in a ‘funk’ over the weirdest things. Part of the life I think.

    Get to writing, Buddy and the sun will shine and warm your fingertips!

Leave a Reply

