Site of the writer Andrew Wood

Flash Fiction #8

Installment number 8:

Companion

Did I ever tell you how much happiness you brought me? I tried to show it as best I could.

Did I bring you enough happiness? Plenty of smiles and laughter? I can see in your eyes that I did.

I looked after you, protected you just like I wanted to. I fought off your enemies and helped you wipe those tears away and turn them into smiles. You did the same for me.

Remember those rainy days we went for walks in? You were soaked to the skin but we dried off back home with some towels.

What about those snowy days? You loved to take pictures of it all, of me rolling around making angels, of the frozen brook, of your boyfriend with a snowball in his face. Those days I know you’ll treasure.

I’ve been through so much and you were always there right next to me… all of you. I know that I did the same for you all when you were feeling the strain of life. I cuddled up to you… I didn’t like to see any of you cry.

I can rest knowing that the happiness I brought you was better than anything else I could have done for you. You can rest easy… I will always remember your smiles.

I can go to sleep now; no more pain. I loved each and every one of you and I always will.

I have been your companion for so long and it’s all I ever wanted. Please don’t be upset over me – I will see you all again and we can go for as many walks as we want… in any weather. I hope it’s the snow!

It isn’t goodbye, it’s only farewell for now.

Thank you.

I love you.

Comments on: "Flash Fiction #8" (10)

  1. Sooo bittersweet, Andy. It’s a great piece to remind us that time is an infinite commodity, and we should live each day as if it was our last.

    😉
    eden

  2. The Fiancee Woman said:

    It’s a lovely memorial to her 🙂 I just want to keep the image of her with the snow on her nose in my head now, not how she looked today. 😥

    I love you xxx

  3. Emma Smith said:

    Very poignant right now Andy. Made me cry – in a good way 🙂 x

  4. I must say that you touched my heart today. Thank you.
    Love and friendship should intertwine each and every day.

  5. Heart-felt and touching, Andy. Your loving and protective personality really shone through these words 🙂

Leave a Reply

