Site of the writer Andrew Wood

Flash Fiction #5

Here is my very late piece 🙂

Flash Fiction #5 – Stranded

Should I have gone there? Could I do that? Where was I when that happened? What will happen next?

All I can do is sit here in the cockpit of my ship and float from star to star until the next lunar barge wanders past going about its business. Things like these are the lowest forms of hope but hope nonetheless. My eyes hurt from all the staring at flashing computers and consoles… I think it’s time for a snooze.

But no! Why can I not sleep? Am I ever going to sleep?

The ship rocks from one side to the other and I’m thrown about like a rag doll in a hurricane. That damn cosmic crap floating around here. Where is here? Is here ever going to be discovered? I’m far from home – 20, maybe 30 light years or so? I don’t really know anymore… all I know is that it’s bloody far and I’m stranded in this coffin of a shuttle. I hope the food and water supplies last long enough.

What am I doing out here? I think I can tell you about that one.

I’m just a simple explorer but because of the military tensions going on in this sector as of late it’s hazardous as heck. Just yesterday I was shot at by some trigger happy weirdo in a cruiser – she claimed I was a security breech in her government’s spacial zone. Moron.

What have I got to look forward to at the moment? Well I was looking forward to snuggling up with the wife and having a hot toddy when I got back to earth. Things always go to shit for me.

Please people come find me. I want the warm touch of my wife again instead of the cold-walled confine of this tin can. All I can do now is sit around and twiddle my thumbs.

Comments on: "Flash Fiction #5" (1)

  1. Like it, Andy.

    You’re good at describing what’s going on in one’s head. I can tell that you’re a bit of sci-fi buff 🙂

Leave a Reply

