Site of the writer Andrew Wood

Recent Thoughts

I’ve been thinking lately about how far a lot of people get and how far a lot of people do not get when it comes to writing. How do writers go about making themselves successful?

Obviously not all people who write do it to get published, but then again a lot do.

I have found that getting your name out there in any which way is a fantastic start, such as:
– Twitter
– A blog site
– Submitting short pieces to online/print literary magazines
– Joining writing groups

When it comes to me I think that my use of Twitter has given me some valuable insight and more importantly plenty of well to-do author friends such as:
– Lisa Stull
– Samantha Iodice
– Al Boudreau
– Eden Baylee
– Mark Charan Newton
– Junying Kirk
– Jessica Kristie

I hope I can achieve what these people have πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Recent Thoughts" (10)

  1. Aww, Andy, you are so kind to include my name with such fine company.

    And I have no doubt you will be published as well, if that’s what you are aiming for.

    I always go back to what my mentor, Kate Austin, a multi-published erotica writer told me when I was feeling discouraged about not getting published.

    Her words: β€œSometimes persistence is even more important than talent and you’ve got both.” I’ll never forget those words, and I feel very fortunate she helped me establish a strong work ethic early on.

    You’re on your way, Andy. Keep at it and maybe one day when you’re rich and famous, I’ll be saying “I knew him when….”

    • I love that quote Eden! If or when I am a rich and accomplished author I will never forget the people who helped me get there in whatever way they did.

      Maybe you could all come and stay at my multi-acre estate πŸ˜› haha

    • Well whomever gets there first will have to hold the event πŸ˜› We could have a writer’s week or something πŸ˜€

  2. Andrew…from what I’ve seen thus far, you are doing everything right. I often see you engaged in conversations on Twitter, and know you to be a huge supporter of fellow writers. I think you’ll find that by giving, you will receive, both literally, and figuratively. Continue to be generous with your friendship, and tenacious with pursuit of your passion—eventually, your goals will come into focus. It’s a pleasure to know you, my friend.

  3. Oh Andy, what a lovely post! I too am both honoured and thrilled to be in such fine company. I have many things ahead of me to be accomplished, but one thing that I do know – when you give, you will receive – not because you expect to receive, but because you don’t. Much as Al said above, you are generous with your spirit, and that is what matters. XO

  4. Hi, Andy.

    I’m truly honoured and humbled at the same time by what you said, honoured to be mentioned among such fine individuals and fellow authors whom I have huge respect and admiration for, humbled that I have not made as much efforts as I should have with twitter and so on. Although older, I’m actually quite new to the writing scene myself, and I have a lot to learn from all the great people you’ve included in your list and more. Together we’ll all go far :-).

    I agree with the others that being generous in our spirit and friendship, and at the same time aiming high and persisting in our dreams, you’ll achieve what you set out to achieve. When you are rich and famous and live in big mansions, don’t forget those of us poor souls who were here in the beginning of your journey πŸ™‚ Before all that, by your kind words above, you’ve at least earned a nice Chinese meal in my humble abode in the not too distant future :-).

    Keep up and best of luck in your writing endeavours and other things in life!

Leave a Reply

