Site of the writer Andrew Wood

I have been thinking about character creation the past few days as I am still in the process of touching up some of my supporting characters. I was wondering about the many methods that are around and what works for each and every writer.

For me I tend to use the interview method. The one I use is not as in-depth as this one – http://www.elfwood.com/farp/thewriting/crissychar/crissychar.html

My bio/interview list is broken down into 3 categories:

  • Physical/Biological
  • Psychological
  • Interpersonal/Cultural

I won’t list all the sub-categories in each section, but if you want me to then I will at someone’s request 😛

Other good points about character creation are raised by the author ‘Holly Lisle’ in her web article – http://hollylisle.com/index.php/How-To-s/how-to-create-a-character.html

For me, apart from the interviewing method, I also keep a look out for any characters (be they from film, literature, video gaming, etc.) that relate to my own one. It doesn’t have to be entirely one element, such as appearance, but can be small bits:

  • Character motions
  • Voice
  • Gait/Walk
  • Parts of background
  • Likes/Dislikes
  • Approach to situations

I take many routes to the creation of various characters for my work, as do many others :-), and I am always open to other methods (there are some I have not mentioned).

If you take the time to read this then I would love for you to comment and let me know what you think about character creation and maybe how you go about it 😀

Leave a Reply

